Serendipity

Moon over tree ©David Doyle

Well, there has been an interesting change since I last wrote.

I have come across the word “serendipitous” a few times these last few days. Do you know what it means? To take everything that happens to you, not as a coincidence, or an accident,  but as a sign of something else. As in the Universe working to make your life the way it is? What do you think about that?

Serendipitous

1. The faculty of making fortunate discoveries by accident.

2. The fact or occurrence of such discoveries.

3. An instance of making such a discovery.

Serendipity means a “happy accident” or “pleasant surprise”; specifically, the accident of finding something good or useful while not specifically searching for it.

I am so esceptic. I don’t believe in anything that can’t be proved. And yet, I am desperate to believe in something that might give a meaning to our lives. To my life.  It would feel good right now to be serendipitous. I would like to give it a try. I think to myself, if the universe wants it to happen, it will. A friend of mine said something to me yesterday that made me think, things are working there, in the universe, to make my life how it should be. I have this image in my mind of the universe as a machine, working slowly and I can hear the noise as it works away its magic.

Then, I think to myself, how sad. How sad it is that I’m buying all this nonsense. That I’m relaying on this idea to make my life better. And I think, it is the easiest way, isn’t it? To think the Universe will take care of things. But only IF these things are meant to be. So, one cannot even rely on the universe then.

Sorry I completely derailed here. So what happened this last week? See, in the first post I was talking about my job, being one of the main reasons I am so down? Well, this is just about to change, because they have offered me a 3 day contract at work. That, or redundancy.

It came as quite a shock because although the business has slowed down, I am very busy.

So it was a blow. Because it is scary. The not knowing; the insecurity. But everyone who knows a little bit about me will say -It might be a blessing in disguise – Because they know how much I hate this job and especially the 40 hours wasted in this place, away from my son, away from doing anything that gives meaning to my life. So, I’ll say, yes. It is a blessing in disguise.

I have been wanting to work less days for ages. I want to have time to dedicate to my little business but I was afraid to take the step, as my family depends on my income.

When I told my counsellor, you can imagine the first thing she said. She smiled and said: Isn’t it funny how the universe finds a way to give us what we want? Because you couldn’t make the decision, the universe made it for you.

Coincidentally… no! There are no coincidences! I am reading a book by Stephen King about time travelling, which I am enjoying, and one of the many sentences used along the book is:

LIFE TURNS ON A DIME

That is so true. And we should never ever forget it.

Leave a Reply

